Jasper County School District celebrates School Board Recognition Month

Jasper County School District will join school districts throughout the state and nation to celebrate School Board Recognition Month in January. Schools and communities will recognize more than 600 locally-elected and appointed school board members throughout the state for their service and dedication to public education.


The theme “Local Voice, People’s Choice” highlights the fact that school board members are elected/appointed by the people in their local communities to represent their voice and to ensure the success of schools and students.


Superintendent Anderson states, “When I think about the work that school board members are elected to do, I am reminded of the following quote by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., “The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” Superintendent Anderson further states, “The commitment to student achievement and meaningful opportunities for student growth in Jasper County School District is and should remain the focus.”


In Jasper County School District, school board members develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $ 28 million, 2,627 students, 450 employees, and six buildings.


The JCSD board members participated in an official signing of the South Carolina School Board Member Ethical Principles during their January school board meeting. By signing the principles, school board members publicly vowed to uphold effective governance principles and pledged to improve public education in their community.


Mrs. Daisy Mitchell, Board Chairwoman, referred to a quote by Nelson Mandela "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world"; this quote merges so well with our district commitment of being "Student-Centered...Future-Focused", as well as our New Logo. Education is the force that powers our students’ ability to succeed in this world of technology, data, politics, the sciences, and so much more. Changes can only come when the driving force, education, is disseminated with rigor and fidelity. Our logo, the ever turning "JC" Compass, symbolizes our commitment to continually strive to prepare our students for the impact they will have in changing not only our country but also the world.


Some significant district achievements and honors accomplished recently under the district’s current leadership are:


•    A high level of accountability

•    Instructional Technology

•    STEM/STEAM Initiatives

•    Executing J.A.G.S (Jasper Academic, Growth Systems)

•    Balanced Literacy Platform

•    Expansion of JCAP Student Choice Opportunities

•    Theme-Based Focus Schools

•    Targeted Mental Health and School Safety and Cleanliness

•    Launching of the new district-wide logo

•    Center for Instructional Quality (CIQ)

•    Boys and Girls Club at Hardeeville Elementary

•    Recruitment and Retention Initiative

•    K-8 Computer Science Classes

•    STEM U Labs at Hardeeville Elementary, Ridgeland Elementary, and Hardeeville-Ridgeland Middle School

•    MTSS (Multi-Tiered Systems of Support) District-wide Framework (in progress)

•    District-wide Literacy Initiative: Implementation of Open Court in elementary schools

•    Development of District Data Team


The men and women who serve nine districts are:


District                        Representative                                    Serving Since

1                      Mr. Bennie Hazel                                            2012

2                      Mrs. Joyce Gerald                                           2018

3                      Ms. Berty Riley, Board Vice Chair                1998

4                      Mrs. Carolyn Bolden, Secretary                     2018

5                      Ms. Daisy L Mitchell, Board Chair                2015

6                      Mrs. Louise Rawlings                                     2018

7                      Mr. Jerold L. Murray                                      2015

8                      Mr. Tedd Moyd                                              2012

9                      Ms. Priscilla Green                                         2013


During the last BOE monthly meeting, school and district staff collectively gave the BOE members gifts, as a token of appreciated for their dedication to the students and staff of Jasper County School District.