Jasper County School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

District celebrates School Board Recognition Month



More than 600 locally-elected and appointed school board members throughout the state will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education.


The theme “Superheroes for Public Education” highlights the unique role school boards play in championing and advocating for quality education and the ownership they take for governing their local public schools. School board members are elected/appointed by the people in their local communities to represent their voice and to ensure the success of schools and students.


In Jasper County School District, school board members develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community.


“The efforts of school board members often go unrecognized,” says Superintendent Andrews. “This month we honor the commitment that school board members make to our district and the community.”


As a part of School Board Recognition Month, Jasper County School District board members participated in an official signing of the South Carolina School Board Member Ethical Principles during their January school board meeting. By signing the principles, school board members publicly vow to uphold effective governance principles and pledged to improve public education in their community.


The men and women serving nine districts and their years of service are (listed in order per district):


District          Representative                                      Serving Since                       

1                  Mr. Bennie Hazel, Board Chaplin            2012                      

2                  Dr. Debora Butler                                    2012                      

3                  Ms. Berty Riley, Board Vice Chair           1998                      

4                  Mr. Randy Horton                                    2000                      

5                  Ms. Daisy L Mitchell, Board Secretary    2015                      

6                  Mr. Kevin M. Karg                                    2015                      

7                  Mr. Jerold L. Murray                                2015                      

8                  Mr. Tedd Moyd                                         2012                      

9                  Ms. Priscilla Green, Board Chair             2013